Ottawa Symphony

May 4: Concerto Project

An Ottawa Symphony Concerto Project

Featuring the winner of the 2020 Senécal - Mozart Prize
Monday 4 May 2020, 7:30 pm

Guest soloists: Catherine Meunier, marimba and Shawn Mativetsky, tabla

Andrew MacDonald’s 13th concerto is a composition for percussion instruments, the marimba and tabla. Informed by both traditional and new music, this premiere is an exploration of culture through sound.

Saint-Saëns composed his Organ Symphony at the peak of his career avowing he gave it his all. Come celebrate as we feature the spectacular Casavant organ in Saint-Saëns outstanding, crowning composition.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Bassoon Concerto
Andrew MacDonald *
Double Concerto for Marimba and Tabla, op. 93 **
Charles-Camille Saint-Saëns
Symphony No. 3 in C minor, Op. 78 (Organ Symphony)

* = Canadian composer
** = World Premiere